The announcement regarding the nominations for 43 seats in the forthcoming Bihar Assembly polls has been made by the BP on Tuesday. On October 12th, 19 seats for the first phase will be held and 15 seats for the second phase will be held on October 16th. However 9 seats for the other phases have not been announced or rather specified.

 In a meeting that was held consisting of BJP’s Central Election Committee chaired by party president Amit Shah and attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the decision regarding the nominations was made and has been declared after the meeting. JP Nadda, Union Health Minister said that the special preference has been given to younger contenders and those from the backward classes.

 Even though election will be held for 81 seats in the first two phases, the party has made an announcement regarding the candidates for only 34 seats. A meeting of the CEC has been scheduled for September 19 during which seats for second phase might be announced in the coming days.

Though the party claimed that women have been given preference, it is seen that only three women candidates — Manju Hazari from Rosera (SC) seat, Nikki Hembrom from Katoria (ST) and sitting MLA Renu Devi from Bettiah have been given tickets.